Home / United Autosports and TF Sport Take Class Wins in Race One at Le Mans

Picture © Adrenal Media

United Autosports and TF Sport Take Class Wins in Race One at Le Mans

LMC - 15/06/2017 - Jeff CARTER

The first race of the Road to Le Mans weekend has been won by the no2 United Autosports Ligier of John Falb and Sean Rayhall. With high temperatures and bright sunshine the scene was set for an epic first battle on the full 13.6km circuit at La Sarthe.

The all American team started 4th on the grid and fought their way to the front after the pitstops with Rayhall bringing the car home five seconds ahead of the no18 M.Racing-YMR Ligier-Nissan of Alexandre Cougnaud and Romano Ricci.

The GT3 category was won by the no97 TF Sport Aston Martin V12 Vantage GT3 of Tom Jackson and Ahmad Al Harthy. Starting from 10th on the GT3 grid the Anglo-Omani duo fought their way up to second place behind the no95 Spirit of Race Ferrari but with less than five minutes remaining Maurizio Mediani was handed a 8 seconds stop and go penalty for not respecting the pitstop time.  This handed the win to the no97 Aston Martin.

  • No90 AT Racing was a non starter due to damage sustained during accident in qualifying
  • No3 DKR Engineering Norma with Alexander Toril led from the start.  Peter Kox in the no48 Kox Racing Ligier briefly led before Toril regained the lead before the end of lap 1.
  • No8 SVC Sport Management Lamborghini of Steeve Hiesse led the GT3 category ahead of the no76 IMSA Performance Porsche 911 of Raymond Narac.
  • On Lap 2 Zone 9 was subject to a slow procedure to recover the no44 SPV MotorSport Ligier of Andrew Cummings.  Slippery track flag shown at Indianapolis because of gravel on track.
  • Lap 5 Narac overtakes Hiesse to take lead of GT3
  • No91 DKR Engineering Adess-Nissan of Yojiro Terada clipped the barrier at zone 31 and slow zone declared to recover the car.
  • After pitstops are concluded the order is shaken up with the no2 United Autosports Ligier of Sean Rayhall leading from the no14 RLR M Sport Ligier of Martin Rich.
  • Maurizio Mediani leads GT3 with the no76 Imsa Performance Porsche of Thierry Cornac in second but Cornac is quickly caught and passed by the no97 TF Sport Aston Martin of Ahmad Al Harthy for second place.
  • Rayhall holding lead but being caught by the no18 M.Racing YMR Ligier of Romano Ricci but Rayhall responds and opens up the gap to 5 seconds at the chequered flag.
  • The no14 RLR MSport Ligier of Alex Kapadia and Martin Rich takes the final podium place
  • The no95 Spirit of Race Ferrari of Mediani takes the chequered flag but is given a time penalty for not respecting the pitstop time and this drops the Ferrari back to 3rd place.
  • Following an investigation the n°7 Mercedes of Lee Mowle was given a penalty for a pit stop infringement and went down to the 39th position. The no95 ‘Spirit of Race’ Ferrari of Christophe Ulrich and Maurizio Mediani was promoted to second position followed by the no46 Ebimotors Lamborghini Huracan GT3 (Emanuele Busnelli/ Fabio Babini).

Race 2 of the 2017 Road to Le Mans will take place on Saturday at 11h30

CLICK HERE for the results from Race 1

Actualités liées

> Lanan Racing Head to Europe Le 22/03/2018 à 09:18

> Flying the flag in the Michelin Le Mans Cup Le 16/03/2018 à 10:28

> Le Castellet round: The countdown is on Le 14/03/2018 à 11:56

> Brookspeed International Join The Grid Le 10/03/2018 à 11:00

> CD Sport to tackle the Michelin Le Mans Cup with Laurents Hörr and Anthony Pons Le 09/03/2018 à 10:29

Next race

Collective Tests

11 April

Results 2017
On social networks