Home / Team Profile - DKR Engineering

Picture © JEP/ ELMS

Team Profile - DKR Engineering

LM P3 - 12/05/2020 - Jeff CARTER

Since the LMP3 class was introduced to the Michelin Le Mans Cup in 2017, Luxembourg based outfit DKR Engineering have been the team to beat with three team championship titles in a row.

DKR Engineering is well known in the GT racing circles, competing at national, international and world levels. The Luxembourg based racing and preparation team was founded by Kendy Janclaes in 2004 as a branch of the Belgian PSI Experience race team.

DKR started running their own race programmes in 2008 and in 2009 won the FFSA GT team and drivers titles as well as competing in the FIA GT Championship. In 2010 the team competed on the world stage as part of the FIA GT1 World Championship as well as continuing to run cars in national and international series with great success.


DKR Engineering and the Michelin Le Mans Cup

In 2017, the Luxembourg team embarked on a new chapter when it purchased the new Norma M30-Nissan to race a Le Mans Prototype for the first time. 

Using all of their extensive engineering knowledge DKR Engineering prepared a race winning car for drivers Jean Glorieux and Alexander Toril, who went on to win four of the seven races, including the prestigious Saturday Road to Le Mans race in front of 250000 fans. The Belgian-Spanish duo finished the season at the head of the championship table, 24 points ahead of Nielsen Racing teammates Tony Wells and Colin Noble.



In 2018, DKR Engineering returned to defend their title with German driver Jens Petersen being paired with young Dutchman Leonard Hoogenboom. The pairing proved to be hard to beat, winning the opening two races at Le Castellet and Monza, with a third victory at Red Bull Ring in July.  They finished the season at the head of the table, 11.5 points ahead of Colin Noble and Alasdair McCaig in the no79 Ecurie Ecosse / Nielsen Ligier.



The 2019 season saw DKR Engineering enter two cars for the whole year for the first time, with Germany’s Laurents Hörr and Frenchman François Kirmann driving the no3 Norma and with the no5 Norma seeing several different drivers during 2019.

In 2019 DKR had to face the very rapid all British team Lanan Racing and drivers Michael Benham and Duncan Tappy. Lanan Racing won the first two races of the season, with Hörr and Kirmann finishing second. 

DKR’s first race win came at Le Mans, with their drivers standing on the top step of the most prestigious podium in endurance racing for the second time in three years. Hörr and Kirmann followed this up with victory at Barcelona, while a big accident for Benham in practice saw Lanan Racing missing from the grid in Spain.

In Belgium, DKR Engineering finished on the podium again but a technical issue in post-race scrutineering saw the top three Normas disqualified. Fourth placed Lanan Racing were promoted to their third win of the year and the race to the title would go down to the final encounter in Portugal.



The 2019 Michelin Le Mans Cup ended in a dramatic 2-hour race at Portimão with the DKR Engineering Norma finishing on the podium to clinch the title for a third time in a row and Laurents Hörr and François Kirmann celebrating their first major European drivers title.

DKR Engineering will be back in 2020 to try and add a fourth team title to their extensive collection of trophies, with 2017 drivers champion Jean Glorieux due to make his return to the Michelin Le Mans Cup

For more on DKR Engineering CLICK HERE

Actualités liées

> Team Profile - Nielsen Racing Le 19/05/2020 à 12:00

> At home with Scott Andrews Le 24/04/2020 à 12:27

> Nielsen Racing raising money for the NHS Le 20/04/2020 à 14:10

> Nielsen Racing confirms Le Mans Cup lineup for the 2020 season Le 11/03/2020 à 15:49

> Nick Adcock and Michael Jensen join CD Sport for the 2020 season Le 03/03/2020 à 09:47

Next race

Le Castellet Round

18 July

Results 2019
On social networks