Home / 2019 Season review – Part 2

Picture © JEP/ LMC

2019 Season review – Part 2

LMC - 30/12/2019 - Jeff CARTER

To help you wait before the start of the 2020 season, here is the second part of the 2019 season review.

ROUND 4: The reigning LMP3 and GT3 Team Champions, DKR Engineering and Kessel Racing, won their respective classes on the first visit to the Circuit of Barcelona-Catalunya by the Michelin Le Mans Cup. The no3 DKR Engineering Norma took the victory after the leading no39 Graff Norma was given a drive through penalty for a collision with the no51 Ferrari.  Once Laurents Hörr hit the front he took the win over 16 seconds ahead of Colin Noble in the no2 Nielsen Racing Norma. The no8 Kessel Racing Ferrari 488 GT3 finished well ahead of the rest of the GT3 field. The no88 Ebimotors Porsche took the lead at the start but was served a drive through penalty for a jump start. Sergio Pianezzola took the lead and handed the car to Giacomo Piccini to bring the Ferrari home for their second victory of 2019.


ROUND 5: Reigning GT3 champion Giacomo Piccini took the chequered flag at Spa-Francorchamps to win the GT3 class just 1.2 seconds ahead of the no99 Beechdean AMR Aston Martin of Ross Gunn, the British team starting from the back of the grid following an earlier engine change. In post-race scrutineering the winning LMP3 class no39 Graff Norma, the second placed no2 Nielsen Racing Norma and the third placed no3 DKR Engineering Norma failed the checks. The crashbox fixations screws were not in compliance with the homologation form and were disqualified from the race results. This promoted the no25 Lanan Racing Norma into first place. 


ROUND 6: The final race of the 2019 season in Portimão saw action and drama galore as DKR Engineering, with François Kirmann and Laurents Hörr, finished on the podium to claim the LMP3 titles. The LMP3 victory went to Alex Kapadia and Rob Wheldon for RLR M Sport, with Kapadia taking the chequered flag 19 seconds ahead of Tony Wells and Colin Noble in the Nielsen Racing Norma, with the no3 DKR Engineering Norma in third. Championship leaders before the race Lanan Racing were penalised for a collision with the no3 DKR Norma while defending his second place in the second hour of the race, with Duncan Tappy having to pit for a three-minute Stop and Go penalty.

Sergio Pianezzola and Giacomo Piccini added the 2019 GT3 title to the one they took in 2018 for Kessel Racing by winning the GT3 class in Portugal just ahead of the no99 Beechdean AMR Aston Martin driven by Ross Gunn and Andrew Howard.  Team champions Kessel Racing claimed the coveted invitation to the 2020 24 Hours of Le Mans for the second year in a row.

Actualités liées


> Happy New Year Le 01/01/2020 à 07:30

> Merry Christmas Le 25/12/2019 à 07:30

> The movie of the season Le 21/12/2019 à 18:30

> 2019 Season review – Part 1 Le 15/12/2019 à 16:00

Next race

Collective Tests

01 April

Results 2019
On social networks