Home / Presentation / History
Consulter l'historique de l'année

Two Classes, Double the Action in 2017

The 2017 season saw the Michelin GT3 Le Mans Cup become the Michelin Le Mans Cup when a LMP3 class was added to the existing GT3 entry following the success of the first combined at the 2016 Road to Le Mans.

The Michelin Le Mans Cup continued to be the first step on the endurance ladder, allowing bronze drivers more track time and experience on six of Europe’s leading race circuits. Driver crews consisted of two drivers, with the first driver classified as bronze, the second as either bronze, silver or gold. Once again platinum drivers were not permitted to compete.

The seven race, six venue, series visited Monza, Le Mans, Red Bull Ring, Le Castellet, Spa-Francorchamps and concluded at Portimão in Portugal.  Once again all of the races lasted 2-hours with the exception of the two races held at Le Mans, which were both 55-minutes in length.

The grids for the 2017 season saw 20 cars on track action certainly keeping everyone involved entertained.

DKR Engineering Secures 2017 Team and Driver Titles

Alex Toril and Jean Glorieux secured their fourth victory of the season at Spa-Francorchamps to give themselves and the DKR Engineering team an unassailable lead in the championship with one race in hand. The Spanish-Belgian teammates scored wins at Le Mans, Red Bull Ring, Le Castellet and Spa-Francorchamps, with Glorieux securing six of the seven pole positions.

DKR Engineering ran the Norma M30 Nissan powered chassis against the established Ligier JS P3 and finished the season on 114 points, twenty four ahead of the rest of the field led by the no79 Nielsen Racing Ligier of Colin Noble and Tony Wells.

All Italian Team Takes Top 2017 GT3 Honours

The 2017 Michelin Le Mans Cup will be remembered for a dramatic season finale in Portugal which saw the destination of the GT3 team and driver titles swing backwards and forwards as the final two hour race of the season counted down to the chequered flag.  In the end it was the no46 Ebimotors Lamborghini Huracan GT3 of Fabio Babini and Emanuele Busnelli that clinched the title by finishing 4th in Portimão.

The all Italian team finished the season on 104.5 points, just 2 points ahead of Britain’s Lee Mowle and the no7 Lee Mowle Mercedes AMG GT3 after seven nail biting races since the season began in Monza last May.  

Results 2017
LMP3 Teams
  • 1 - DKR Engineering (114pts)
  • 2 - Nielsen Racing (90pts)
  • 3 - Motorsport98 (67pts)
  • 4 - Graff (62.5pts)
  • 5 - Spirit of Race (61.5pts)
  • 6 - United Autosports (32pts)
  • 7 - M.Racing - YMR (28.5pts)
  • 8 - RLR MSport (28pts)
  • 9 - N'Race (27pts)
  • 10 - United Autosports (24pts)
  • 11 - United Autosports (14pts)
  • 12 - Graff (12pts)
  • 13 - M.Racing - YMR (12pts)
  • 14 - Graff (8pts)
  • 15 - Cool Racing by GPC (7.5pts)
  • 16 - M.Racing - YMR (7pts)
  • 17 - Duqueine Engineering (7pts)
  • 18 - DKR Engineering (5.5pts)
  • 19 - RLR MSport (5pts)
  • 20 - Ibran Pardo Javier (5pts)
  • 21 - Graff (4pts)
  • 22 - Kox Racing (3.5pts)
  • 23 - SVC Sport Management (3pts)
  • 24 - SPV Motorsport (3pts)
  • 25 - By Speed Factory (1pts)
  • 25 - WIN Motorsport (1pts)
  • 25 - Graff (1pts)
  • 25 - TKS (1pts)
  • 26 - Duqueine Engineering (0.5pts)
  • 26 - Graff (0.5pts)
  • 26 - Eurointernational (0.5pts)
  • 26 - Eurointernational (0.5pts)
  • 27 - Duqueine Engineering (0.5pts)
  • 27 - AT Racing (0.5pts)
  • 27 - DKR Engineering (0.5pts)
  • 28 - KEO Racing (0pts)
All results
Next race


15 June

Results 2019
Follow us !